Post Office Holidays

Post Office Holidays

WHEN ARE NEXT POST OFFICE HOLIDAYS ?

Mahavir Jayanthi
Mahavir Jayanthi

Mahavir Jayanthi in 2024 is on the Sunday, 21st of April (21/04/2024)

Buddha Purnima
Buddha Purnima

Buddha Purnima in 2024 is on the Thursday, 23rd of May (23/05/2024)

Bakri Id / Eid ul-Adha
Bakri Id / Eid ul-Adha

Bakri Id / Eid ul-Adha in 2024 is on the Monday, 17th of June (17/06/2024)

POST OFFICE HOLIDAYS LIST 2024

Year Date Day Holiday
2024 26 Jan Fri Republic Day
2024 29 Mar Fri Good Friday
2024 10 Apr Wed EID-UL-FITAR
2024 21 Apr Sun Mahavir Jayanthi
2024 23 May Thu Buddha Purnima
2024 17 Jun Mon Bakri Id / Eid ul-Adha
2024 15 Jul Mon Muharram
2024 15 Aug Thu Independence Day
2024 16 Sep Mon Milad Un Nabi
2024 2 Oct Wed Gandhi Jayanti
2024 13 Oct Sun Dussehra
2024 1 Nov Fri Diwali
2024 15 Nov Fri Guru Nanak's Birthday
2024 25 Dec Wed Christmas

2024 India Post Office Services:

The government regulates the Indian post office services. The sector is one of the largest postal networking organizations globally. With over 150,000 post offices across the Republic of India, there is no doubt that the services it offers are essential. The post offices are categorized into the General Post Office, Head Post Office, Mukhya Dak Ghar, the Railway Mail Services, Circle Offices, Rural Post Services, and non-delivery post offices.

The business hours for the post offices vary from one region to another. The timings are determined by the services offered and the number of transactions taking place in the given post office. Some post offices operate all week long while a majority work from Monday to Saturday except for the Night Post Offices.

The post offices mostly remain closed on public holidays and gazetted holidays. Besides the public holidays, the post offices are closed for another five days every year. These days are set aside by the Indian government, and a list released every year. The special holidays are meant to grant the hardworking government workers some free time to be with their families.