Post Office Holidays

Post Office Holidays


Republic Day
Republic Day

Republic Day in 2023 is on the Friday, 26th of January (26/01/2024)

Good Friday
Good Friday

Good Friday in 2023 is on the Friday, 29th of March (29/03/2024)


EID-UL-FITAR in 2023 is on the Wednesday, 10th of April (10/04/2024)


Year Date Day Holiday
2023 26 Jan Thu Republic Day
2023 4 Apr Tue Mahavir Jayanthi
2023 7 Apr Fri Good Friday
2023 22 Apr Sat EID-UL-FITAR
2023 5 May Fri Buddha Purnima
2023 29 Jun Thu Bakri Id / Eid ul-Adha
2023 29 Jul Sat Muharram
2023 15 Aug Tue Independence Day
2023 28 Sep Thu Milad Un Nabi
2023 2 Oct Mon Gandhi Jayanti
2023 24 Oct Tue Dussehra
2023 12 Nov Sun Diwali
2023 27 Nov Mon Guru Nanak's Birthday
2023 25 Dec Mon Christmas

2023 India Post Office Services:

The government regulates the Indian post office services. The sector is one of the largest postal networking organizations globally. With over 150,000 post offices across the Republic of India, there is no doubt that the services it offers are essential. The post offices are categorized into the General Post Office, Head Post Office, Mukhya Dak Ghar, the Railway Mail Services, Circle Offices, Rural Post Services, and non-delivery post offices.

The business hours for the post offices vary from one region to another. The timings are determined by the services offered and the number of transactions taking place in the given post office. Some post offices operate all week long while a majority work from Monday to Saturday except for the Night Post Offices.

The post offices mostly remain closed on public holidays and gazetted holidays. Besides the public holidays, the post offices are closed for another five days every year. These days are set aside by the Indian government, and a list released every year. The special holidays are meant to grant the hardworking government workers some free time to be with their families.