State Holidays

State Holidays

2025 State Holidays

2024 State Holidays

State Holidays Information:

The republic of India has one of the world's largest populations, with 28 different states and 8 union territories. These states and territories are further divided into districts and administrative divisions. Most of these regions have their own languages and capitals.

The Indian government has granted each of the states and territories the freedom to choose their own holidays. These holidays are mostly determined by the religious beliefs, linguistic preferences, and cultural aspects of the specific region. Some regions may, however, share certain holidays with the others.

Some states may have special days when it is a day off to employees to allow them to take part in festivities. When various states are observing their own holidays, some organisations and businesses may close to celebrate the festivities. However, business runs as usual in the rest of the territories and states.